## The ASN organisation chart

- Commission of five commissioners
- General Directorate
- Eight departments
- Office of Administration
- Management and Expertise Office
- Eleven regional divisions

The departments are organised thematically and manage national affairs concerning the activities for which they are responsible.

The ASN regional divisions operate under the authority of the regional representatives, appointed by the ASN Chairman. They represent the ASN chairman in the regions and contribute to ASN's public information role. The divisions carry out most of the direct inspections on BNIs, radioactive material transport operations and small-scale nuclear activities.

In emergency situations, the divisions assist the  $préfet^1$  of the  $d\acute{e}partement^2$ , who is in charge of protecting the population, and monitor operations to safeguard the installation on the site, provided that it is accessible and does not constitute a hazard.

- 1. In a département, representative of the State appointed by the President
- 2. Administrative region headed by a préfet

